Carmelo Arden Quin, Nanni Balestrini, Susanne Kutter, Axel Lieber

From 22 September to 31 October 2018

MAAB Gallery inaugura la stazione espositiva della sede padovana con Flashback, mostra collettiva dedicata ai cinque artisti presentati lo scorso anno a Milano: Carmelo Arden Quin, Nanni Balestrini, Bruno Munari, Susanne Kutter e Axel Lieber.

Le opere di Carmelo Arden Quin (Riviera 1913 – Savigny sur Orge 2010), fondatore nel 1946 del Gruppo Madì, mostrano la profonda innovazione, nella tecnica e nella scelta dei materiali, che l’autore ha dato all’astrazione geometrica.

The MAAB Gallery opens its new series of exhibitions in its venue in Padua with Flashback, a group show devoted to the five artists presented last year in Milan: Carmelo Arden Quin, Nanni Balestrini, Bruno Munari, Susanne Kutter, and Axel Lieber.

The works by Carmelo Arden Quin (Riviera 1913 – Savigny sur Orge 2010), the founder in 1946 of Gruppo Madí, in their technique and choice of materials reveal the deep innovation that the artist contributed to geometric abstraction.

The refined collages by Nanni Balestrini (Milan 1935; he lives and works in Rome), the poet, novelist and artist who was one of the promoters of Gruppo ’63, unite art and poetry to tell the story of the past fifty years.

The creations of Bruno Munari (Milan 1907 – 1998), one of the international protagonists of the renewal of visual and material culture in the 20thcentury, highlight the versatility of an artist who, from very early on in his work, created connections between art and design.

The works by Susanne Kutter (Werningerode 1971; she lives and works in Berlin) range from video to sculpture and installations, and challenge the laws of logic by altering the initial state of calm present in the domestic environments she creates. 

The works by Axel Lieber (Düsseldorf 1960; he lives and works in Berlin), in which everyday objects become puzzles and puns, make up a passionate, ironical, and surreal journey around the world.

Press release

Carmelo Arden Quin
Nanni Balestrini
Susanne Kutter
Axel Lieber
Bruno Munari